Elon Musk: hates patents, loves Zero Wing.

Elon Musk: hates patents, loves Zero Wing.

All Our Patent Are Belong To You.

I had to read the post more than twice to make double sure it wasn’t some kinda Onion thing, but there we have it.

Elon Musk has taken down all Tesla patents to open up the EV industry. He’s actually inviting competition and is offering up whatever he can to move it along, it seems. And I think what he’s done makes me feel better, especially about stuff like this (Ce qui la baise, Amazon…?). And, of course, about larger matters regarding the air and what we’re doing to it.

[special mention: Earth, Water, Heart and Wheeler with the Fire, but only if he’s careful today]

Captain_Planet_and_the_Planeteers_-_1992_-_Sega

And I see his point. He says something about how his competition isn’t really the other EV manufacturers out there (of which there are hardly any), but rather the regular gasoline car industry. I agree with that. His remarks outline that he’d sooner take on the problems that petroleum consumption creates, rather than play ‘lawyer’s lottery’ with those who are just trying to reach the same goals he is. I like how he compared it to not wanting to “lay intellectual property landmines” to inhibit others. Nicely put.

[special mention: e-Rally]

I’m probably coming off sounding ever-so-slightly apprehensive though, mostly because I’ve never heard of this kind of thing before. A corporate leader doing something potentially financially backward in the name of intellectual progress? Actually looking further than his stock portfolio and towards the larger picture? A suit with a heart inside and a brain under his hat? I don’t like to say this, but what’s the catch? Let’s be honest, the guy’s a multi-billionaire. His pocket can take the hit, but what about investors? Will this be Tesla’s Achilles? Hard to say. Time will tell.

[special mention: Thetis. Oh, girrrrrrrl. It’s not your fault. You tried. Your boy shouldn’t have been fighting like that anyway.]

1e929290ef

In the meantime, I’m happy for what this could mean. Anything in the name of Open Source garners my approval (which I’ve decided is the emotional equivalent of you receiving one large bowl of nachos, one beer [bark ‘cerveza’ at me one more time and I’m having the other five. At least use the Spanish accent if you’re gonna be pedantic, elastic ass. Sassy in the face of a free dinner, aren’t you?] and possibly even taquitos for afters because nobody likes being told off during meal times and being a weenie is exhausting work). That is to say, I’m super pleased (and kinda hungry).

I think Nikola Tesla would be proud.

Invitation: Progress.
RSVP: Yes / No / Maybe

Let’s not wait.

3 Comments

  1. Elon Musk is the CEO of SpaceX and Tesla. In these two companies, products manufactured have never been proposed before. For SpaceX (USA), the company is able to sell a rocket launch for satellites for 12000 dollars / kg as cost for Ariane 5 (Europa) is 23000 dollars / kg and for Proton (Russia), 18000 dollars / kg.
    As ILIAD for French Telecommunication, SpaceX is completely redefine the market of space rocket launch. He obliges restructuring Safran (Ariane) into Airbus group in June 2014.
    Elon Musk is also the CEO of Telsa, a company selling only electric cars in USA! Elon Musk is a serial creator, as he was the creator of Paypal sold to Ebay in the 2000′s years.
    If you are interested, I have posted an article about Elon Musk that you can read here:
    http://worldofinnovations.net/2014/06/19/elon-musk-an-exceptional-innovator/

    • Much appreciated; he seems to be a very talented and professionally prolific kinda guy.
      I only knew a little bit about SpaceX at the time of writing, but it seems all the more interesting when I find out more.
      And I was surprised to stumble upon the fact he was one of the pioneers of PayPal during my research; I forget that even methods of payment have to be innovated somehow! And it’s nice that a businessman such as he values optimism so much without letting it slide into tenuous idealism, at least in my opinion.
      I’ll jump over to your article now – it’s always nice to find out more. Thanks for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

